How should we judge a government?

In Malaysia, if you don't watch television or read newspapers, you are uninformed; but if you do, you are misinformed!

"If you're not careful, the newspapers will have you hating the people who are being oppressed, and loving the people who are doing the oppressing." - Malcolm X

Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience - Mark Twain

Why we should be against censorship in a court of law: Publicity is the very soul of justice … it keeps the judge himself, while trying, under trial. - Jeremy Bentham

"Our government is like a baby's alimentary canal, with a happy appetite at one end and no
responsibility at the other. " - Ronald Reagan

Government fed by the people

Government fed by the people

Career options

Career options
I suggest government... because nobody has ever been caught.

Corruption so prevalent it affects English language?

Corruption so prevalent it affects English language?
Corruption is so prevalent it affects English language?

When there's too much dirt...

When there's too much dirt...
We need better tools... to cover up mega corruptions.

Prevent bullying now!

Prevent bullying now!
If you're not going to speak up, how is the world supposed to know you exist? “Orang boleh pandai setinggi langit, tapi selama ia tidak menulis, ia akan hilang di dalam masyarakat dan dari sejarah.” - Ananta Prameodya Toer (Your intellect may soar to the sky but if you do not write, you will be lost from society and to history.)

Monday, September 30, 2013

DAP CEC Election results confirmed earlier choices, just to please ROS and a few disgruntled members?

Since the last party CEC election in December 2012, we have witnessed a war of words between DAP leaders and ROS and some disgruntled members or ex-members (depending on definition); and a court case and verdict; which resulted in a fresh CEC election held on Sunday, September 29.

The results which more or less re-affirmed the previous election, confirms there was in fact no hanky panky before, and shows the unprofessional attitude and actions of ROS in purportedly trying to protect a few disgruntled members. It was obvious to most people that ROS had been mischievous in trying every ways and means to try and de-register DAP. That ROS had been acting under orders or at least trying very hard to please his political masters, Umno, seems to be the perception of many.

The re-election must have costed the party at least tens of thousand Ringgit, possibly running into six figures. It would have been worth it if this brings closure to the issue. But I am afraid, this is not the end, and the party leaders have to remain vigilant so long as ROS is believed to have malicious intent.

The results of the CEC Election according to votes:

1. Liew Chin Tong
2. Lim Kit Siang
3. Karpal Singh
4. Gobind Singh Deo
5. Lim Guan Eng
6. Chong Chieng Jen
7. Loke Siew Fook (Anthony)
8. Chow Kon Yeow
9. Fong Kui Lun
10. Teng Chang Khim
11. Pua Kiam Wee (Tony)
12. Zairil Khir Johari
13. Kok Suh Sim (Teresa)
14. Chong Eng
15. M Kula
16. Tan Kok Wai
17. Teo Nie Ching
18. Dr Boo Cheng Hau
19. Nga Kor Ming
20. Ngeh Koo Ham

Appointed CEC members:
Dr Tan Seng Giaw
Dr P Ramasamy
Dr Ariffin Omar
Jimmy Wong Sze Phin
Vincent Wu
Dr John Brian Anthony
Dr Edwin Bosi
Leong Ngah Ngah
V. Sivakumar
Su Keong Siong

Line-up in party positions (with election ranking in brackets):

Pengerusi: Karpal Singh (3)
Timbalan Pengerusi: Tan Kok Wai (16)
Naib Pengerusi:
Chow Kon Yeow (8)
Chong Chieng Jen (6)
M Kula Segaran (15)
Teresa Kok (13)
Dr Ariffin Omar
Setiausaha Agung: Lim Guan Eng (5)
Timbalan Setiausaha Agung: Chong Eng (6)
Ngeh Koo Ham (20)
P Ramasamy
Bendahari: Fong Kui Lun (9)
Timbalan Bendahari: Nga Kor Ming (19)
Setiausaha Organisasi: Loke Siew Fook (7)
Timbalan Setiausaha Organisasi: Thomas Su Keong Siong, Vincent Wu Him Ven
Setiausaha Publisiti: Tony Pua Kiam Wee (11)
Timbalan Setiausaha Publisiti:
Teo Nie Ching (17)
Zairil Khir Johari (12)
Setiausaha Antarabangsa: V. Sivakumar
Pengarah Pendidikan Politik: Liew Chin Tong (1)
Timbalan Pengarah Pendidikan Politik: Dr Boo Cheng Hau (18)
Penasihat Parti: Dr Chen Man Hin
Ketua Parlimen Parlimen: Lim Kit Siang (2)
Jawatankuasa Disiplin
Pengerusi: Tan Kok Wai
Ahli-ahli: M. Kula Segaran, Tan Seng Giaw, P. Ramasamy
Biro Pilihanraya
Pengerusi: Tan Kok Wai
Ahli-ahli: Vincent Wu Him Ven, Anthony Loke Siew Fook, Tony Pua Kiam Wee, Liew Chin Tong
Pengerusi Biro Guaman: Gobind Singh Deo (4)
Biro Pakatan Rakyat
Pengerusi: Teng Chang Khim (10)
Ahli-ahli: Anthony Loke Siew Fook, Tony Pua Kiam Wee, Liew Chin Tong, Teresa Kok, Gobind Singh Deo
Pengerusi Kebudayaan: P. Gunasekaran
Pengerusi Biro Buruh: A. Sivanesan
Pengerusi Majlis Perundingan Dayak: Dr John Brian Anthony
Pengerusi Majlis Kadazandusunmurut (KDM): Dr Edwin Bosi
Whip: Anthony Loke Siew Fook
Timbalan Whip: Teresa Kok, M. Kula Segaran
Jawatankuasa Keahlian
Pengerusi: Anthony Loke Siew Fook
Ahli-ahli: Vincent Wu Him Ven, Thomas Su Keong Siong

Source of line-up:
Malaysia Chronicle: DAP election results 

For more information on comparison with previous election:
Anil Netto: DAP central committee election results; Zairil Khir Johari is in

Many people wondered about the technical glitch which caused the problem with ROS. The Malay Mail shows the error and correction (highlighted) in the first and second lists respectively.


1 comment:

Anonymous said...

There are some obvious changes in the results! Obviously because of the changes in the number of members who contested. This election also did not prove that there was no hanky panky in the previous election. This is because the events (elections) are independent.